Robins shortlisted for 2012 Saskatchewan Book Awards

Congratulations to the following Robins, whose books have been shortlisted for the 2012 Saskatchewan Book Awards!

  • Adele Dueck, for Racing Home (Children’s Literature category)
  • Alison Lohans, for Picturing Alyssa (Regina Book Award and Children’s Literature categories)
  • Anne Patton and co-author Wilfred Burton, for Call of the Fiddle (Regina Book Award category)
  • Anne Patton, for Full Steam to Canada! (Children’s Literature category)

The Award Gala takes place on April 28. Best of luck, Robins!

Kaboom! wins Science Writing Award

Chair awarded by American Institute of Physics to Gillian Richardson for Kaboom!
Chair awarded by American Institute of Physics to Gillian Richardson for Kaboom!

Congratulations to Gillian Richardson, whose book Kaboom! has won the 2010 American Institute of Physics Science Writing Award in the Children’s Category. Her prize was this lovely chair, seen here with the book.

Plaque on prize chair
Plaque on prize chair

The inscription is on a plaque on the back of the chair.

Way to go, Gillian!

Read more in the AIP official announcement.

Adele Dueck’s book Racing Home is a 2011 OLA Best Bet!

Congratulations to Adele Dueck, whose novel Racing Home has been chosen by the Ontario Library Association as one of 2011’s Best Bets for Children and Young Adults!

Books are chosen for their literary merit and their appeal to their intended audience, in this case middle grade readers.

The OLA summarizes the book as follows:

Racing Home
Written by Adele Dueck | Coteau Books
Erik did not want to leave his grandfather’s farm in Norway. But he must adjust as his new stepfather moves the family to the Canadian west. This is a richly detailed and engrossing portrait of pioneer prairie life seen through a young boy’s eyes.

Land of Living Skies nominated for High Plains Book Award

High Plains Book Award logo
High Plains Book Award logo

Congratulations to Linda Aksomitis, whose book L is for Land of Living Skies has been nominated for the High Plains Book Award in the art and photography category!

The award is given out by the Parmly Billings Library Board in Billings, Montana. It  recognizes authors and/or literary works which examine and reflect life in the North American plains. This includes Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming, Nebraska, Colorado, and Kansas in the U.S. A., and Alberta, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan in Canada.

For more information, see the Parmly Billings Library website.

Kaboom shortlisted for 2011 Rocky Mountain Book Award

Rocky Mountain Book Award logo
Rocky Mountain Book Award logo

Congratulations to Gillian Richardson, whose book Kaboom! Explosions of all Kinds has just been shortlisted for Alberta’s Rocky Mountain Book Award!

This reader’s choice award is designed to stimulate the reading interests of students in grades 4 – 7. It is an Alberta based program designed to connect young readers with exemplary Canadian literature.

Way to go, Gillian!

Doppelganger and Pictures runners up in New Zealand award

Pictures, by Linda Aksomitis
Pictures, by Linda Aksomitis


Doppelganger, by Alison Lohans
Doppelganger, by Alison Lohans

Nitty Gritty Novels, Series I was first runner up for a 2010 CLL Educational Publishing Award in New Zealand. The series, published by Pearson, includes the novels Doppelganger, by Alison Lohans, and Pictures, by Linda Aksomitis.

It was Highly Commended in the “Best Book or Series in Primary Publishing” category. Congratulations, Linda and Alison!

Dancing in My Bones wins 2010 Moonbeams Spirit Award!

Moonbeam Children's Book Award logo
Moonbeam Children’s Book Award logo

Congratulations to Anne Patton and Wilfred Burton, whose book Dancing in My Bones has won a Moonbeams Spirit Award!

The awards are administered by the Independent Publishers, who say:

“The Moonbeam Children’s Book Awards  are intended to bring increased recognition to exemplary children’s books and their creators, and to support childhood literacy and life-long reading. The Awards recognize and reward the best of these books and bring them to the attention of parents, booksellers, librarians – and to children themselves.

The cause of promoting childhood literacy knows no boundaries, and the award winners illustrate that point well, coming not only from long-established publishers and university presses, but from small presses, foundations, museums, and self-published entrepreneurs.”

The Moonbeam Spirit Award is given “for dedication to children’s literacy and inspired writing, illustrating and publishing.”

Now Anne and Wilfred have another reason to dance!